Ponsford Reviews

4.80 Rating 514 Reviews
95 %
of reviewers recommend Ponsford
Merchant Metrics
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Read Ponsford Reviews

About Ponsford:

Suppliers of quality furniture and furnishings for over 125 years.

Visit Website


0114 255 0075




577-609 London Rd

Write Your review

Tell us how Ponsford made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Ponsford 5 star review on 31st August 2021
Christopher Cave
Ponsford 5 star review on 26th May 2021
Amanda Edwards
Ponsford 5 star review on 7th January 2020
Ms Sharon Phelps
Ponsford 5 star review on 11th August 2017
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
I ordered a sofa, amongst many other items on the 30th December 2020. Was told an estimated time for delivery as being a minimum of 20 weeks. I was not concerned by this and anticipated that one of the sofas would not be delivered before June 2021. Out of the blue, I got a telephone call from a woman at Ponsfords two weeks ago, quoting that the date for delivery was on the 12 April 2021, I confirmed this was fine, and advised there was no access issues and I would make arrangements for someone would accept the deliver. The same female advised that I had up until Friday 9th to clear the balance. I called On Thursday 8th, cleared the balance, and asked for the estimated time for delivery. To be transferred by phone to four different people, who clearly didn't have a clue what was happening, and then being rudely told firstly, the date of delivery was not the 12th April, it was an "estimated" time (which clearly it was not an estimated delivery date) and that the delay was as a result of the company not being able to get hold of the chemicals to make the cushions (which is a load of baloney). As mentioned above, I was not concerned by the estimated delivery of the sofa which on order was quoted for June 2021. What I take serious issue is, is this, I was given a specific date for delivery, I got rid of two sofas to prepare for the delivery of the one I was told would be delivered on the 12th April, to now being told "it was an estimated delivery and now, we dont know when it will be delivered". I will now be without a sofa now until June 2021 and this company took my money before confirming the date for delivery. I clearly would not have got rid of my sofas unless it had not been but for the confirmation of the delivery date. The customer service here is appalling and I have spent a lot of money in this store. It is unlikely that I can accept this level of service. Thinking of contacting my credit card company for the return of the paid funds on the basis the sofa was not delivered today as was agreed.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Dear customer, We are extremely sorry to hear this and we are now investigating the issue and will be contacting you very soon. Kind regards, Ponsford
Posted 6 months ago
A good few months ago in 2020 we bought a chair and foot stool. Months passed, we had to chase for updates and suddenly the chair was ready for deliver. The stool wasn’t. That was missing. It still is missing although they delivered a stool that was a different colour. We appreciate times are challenging but the least a customer should expect is communication and for their money not to be taken and then be ignored. We expected better off Ponsford. We truly have been astounded by their approach and are tired with having to chase to find anything out.
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
Dear Stephen and Gill, We are sorry to hear that you are disappointed with our communication as we pride ourselves on providing excellent levels of service and customer satisfaction at all times. There have been issues beyond our control with this order on this occasion and whilst we currently remain closed due to government lockdown restrictions we have endeavoured to work with our supplier to get you a satisfactory outcome whilst also providing you with a discount back from your original order. We have emailed you separately as have an update from our supplier to share with you and will be in touch with you shortly. Kind regards, Luke O' Neil Head of Marketing, Ponsford
Posted 9 months ago
Don't buy flooring from Pondsford. We were advised our floor would be levelled before the hard flooring was laid down stairs... It wasn't. We had a gap under our fire, slats cut too short and visible ridges showing through. I was devastated. Our stair carpet was cut too short at the sides and the gripper can be seen through the carpet. For what we paid I expected perfect. Some of the issues were bodged right but its not perfect. One of the fitters was on his phone having a good chat with a friend and listening to his music while he was here. Not at all what I expected. Beautiful products terrible fitting and an incredibly stressful time. The sales man told us a load of rubbish seemingly to get our business.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
We're sorry to read of the issues you had with your flooring purchase and subsequent install. We always endeavour to make our customers fully aware of any potential issues a specific property presents. I understand having spoken with our Flooring Manager, that these issues have been resolved to the best of our abilities, given the said restrictions of the property.
Posted 3 years ago
Delivery timescales were much longer than published, delivery team offered no flexibility, then items were missing causing a further lengthy delay and another delivery.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
We're sorry to read of the issues you had with delivery and lead times. Made-to-order furniture can, on occasion, be delayed at the manufacturer and this is sadly out of our control. Regarding the missing items, I understand these have now been delivered, please accept our apologies for the further delay this caused. Kind Regards, Ponsford.
Posted 4 years ago
I had the most appalling recent experience with Pondsfords. I have been a loyal customer over the past 15 years spending in total in excess of £30,000. On 24th February I looked on their sale website and purchased a Tempur bed for £569.00 I paid a further £25 for delivery. All good or so I thought, however some 15 minutes later a representative from Pondsfords rang me telling me the price on the website was a mistake and the real price was £1300 but they would let me buy it for £1200. He refused to honour my purchase and referred it to his supervisor who stated that the real price was £1700 but I could buy it for £1050. I stated I was not happy with this situation and he said he would refer it to Mr Richard Pondsford himself. The following morning he rang to say Mr Pondsford would not honour my purchase. So I told him I would share my experience and would never patronise the shop again! Janis from Sheffield
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Dear Mrs Dobrin, we were sorry to receive your review. We made a genuine mistake, which we explained to you over the phone and provided a full refund within 15 minutes. We pride ourselves on being straightforward and had the mistake been in the opposite direction and we overcharged you we would of course have acted in exactly the same way. Kind Regards, Ponsford.
Posted 4 years ago
Ordered a bedside cabinet last September and are still waiting! Tried to follow it up early December. Was told on three occasions that someone would phone me back and it never happened. Took till after Christmas to speak to the manager after getting nowhere with shop staff. Manager looked into it and it turns out there was a mix up with the order initially. Personally I feel it was never ordered in the first place. While I can accept mix ups I was very disappointed with the customer service I received in December.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
Dear Mr Hambleton, thank you for your review and we're sorry to read of the issues you've had with the order. We strive to give every customer excellent customer service and appreciate that on this occasion we didn't achieve that for you. I've forwarded this to the relevant Sales Manager dealing with your order. Kind Regards, Ponsford.
Posted 5 years ago
Excellent pre-sales service, selecting our desired snuggler & colour. Waited 3 months only to receive the wrong colour. Great initial customer service with quick responses to queries. However, once it was realised as the manufacturer's fault we received no apology & were told it would be another 3 months to wait. From then on things went down hill. 5 months since we ordered & we're still awaiting a refund after sending the sofa back last week. Shame as they used to be a good company (our other sofa is from there). Think they have just got too big and cannot handle things in the manner the company's reputation was built upon. Won't be using them again.
Helpful Report
Posted 7 years ago
Dear Mr Hilton, Thank you for your feedback. We do strive to maintain a transparent service and excellent customer care and are extremely disappointed that on this occasion we were unable to meet with your requirements. Kindest Regards, Ponsford
Posted 7 years ago
Our sofa and chairs were ordered feb 2014 and we were told there was an 8-10 week wait. 11 weeks later we hadn't heard anything so called to see where our furniture was. We were told it had missed the container and we would have to wait until late June! It is firstly poor service to promise something that was probably not possible in the first place but even poorer service to then not tell the customer it was delayed by 6 weeks. Premium prices for bargain basement service, go to Barker and Stone house where all the furniture is the same and thy have bigger buying power and stock reserves.
Helpful Report
Posted 7 years ago
Dear Mr McGarry, Thank you for your feedback. We do strive to maintain a transparent service and excellent customer care and are extremely disappointed that on this occasion we were unable to meet with your requirements. In this instance we were powerless to speed up the delivery once the container had been missed however we take full responsibility that we should have been aware of this earlier and should have informed you. Having being unable to fulfill our side we did fully refund you and can at this stage only apologise for your experience as we strive not to let this happen again. Kindest Regards, Lucy
Posted 7 years ago
Quite simply after ordering, one of my worst retail experiences. Certainly not what I would expect from a so called premium retailer. My order was placed in January and David advised 6-8 weeks delivery. My paperwork came through advising delivery at the end of March. If only. Eventually I was advised my items were ready for delivery in May, after numerous phone calls. A date of 6th May was arranged only for your team not to turn up. I eventually received my chest of drawers and bed frame in Saturday 10th May over 14 weeks after ordering. Whilst David in sales was a star. I am afraid your transport department leave a lot to desire. I am just about to order more of this furniture. Rest assured it certainly will not be from Ponsfords. You do not deserve a second chance. I shall certainly not recommend you to friends or colleagues either.
Helpful Report
Posted 7 years ago
Dear Miss Stone We are very sorry to have failed your expectations. We do however continuously try to improve our standards and learn from every experience.
Posted 7 years ago
Ponsford is rated 4.80 based on 514 reviews