Ponsford Reviews

4.80 Rating 514 Reviews
95 %
of reviewers recommend Ponsford
Merchant Metrics
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone
Read Ponsford Reviews

About Ponsford:

Suppliers of quality furniture and furnishings for over 125 years.

Visit Website

Phone:

0114 255 0075

Email:

sales@ponsford.co.uk

Location:

577-609 London Rd

Write Your review

Tell us how Ponsford made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Ponsford 5 star review on 31st August 2021
Christopher Cave
Ponsford 5 star review on 26th May 2021
Amanda Edwards
Ponsford 5 star review on 7th January 2020
Ms Sharon Phelps
Ponsford 5 star review on 11th August 2017
Chris
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Exceptional service for everyone at Ponsfords from reception, delivery drivers, fitters and sales consultants. We have recently had new carpet throughout the house, a new bed, settee and snuggler. The advice, service, selection and after sales service has exceeded all expectations. As you would expect from Ponsfords the quality of the products is of the highest standard and represent excellent value for money. We would highly recommend Ponsfords.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
So where do we start? Having previously made the mistake of buying a carpet from a well known chain and it having to be removed as damaged, we decided to have a look at Ponsford. We have previously bought bedroom furniture and were really impressed with the good old fashioned customer service. The selection of carpets was very good and the sales person took the time and effort to advise around the best type of carpet for our stairs. We finally chose a Brinton carpet which is now laid and looks really nice. The fitters were respectful of our home and very pleasant. In fact, an excellent job of fitting, as radial steps which are more involved. I would highly recommend as absolutely first class fitting. The fitters cleaned everything thing up and finished all the door bars which really finished the job off well. We are impressed to the point that we would not bother going elsewhere for our next carpet. There fitters were excellent ambassadors for Ponsford. Thank you.
Ponsford 5 star review on 7th August 2021
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Every aspect of this shopping experience is excellent. The range is superb and well-priced, the staff are attentive, but not overly so. The most impressive aspect though is that every touch point is perfect, from accounts, to sales to, to warehouse, to fitters. I run a business and I dream of getting it to run as well as this. Simply amazing.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Just received our sofa and over the moon, was quicker than expected and we were kept updated at all times. Delivery was exceptional and we were not left with lots of cardboard and packaging which was refreshing. Service, 5 stars! Will be using again.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
From purchasing my dining suite from the sales lady, I think it was Fatima, to live chat, office staff and delivery drivers, who by the way were hillarious, the quality of everything is brill. Thankyou guys. Keep up the good work Kind regards Amanda Edwards 👍
Ponsford 5 star review on 26th May 2021 Ponsford 5 star review on 26th May 2021
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Thank you, Ponsford, for making some much-needed and long-overdue retail therapy such a positive experience. Was great to see the Ercol pieces that I've been eyeing up over lockdown, and chat with your cheery, helpful staff. You guys make Supporting Local Businesses easy. Thanks again.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
So happy that Ponsford has re-opened this week. Been in to check on the progress of my sofa order and found out it's arriving earlier than expected. Got a great service from the team in the studio department. Thoroughly recommend.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
I ordered a sofa, amongst many other items on the 30th December 2020. Was told an estimated time for delivery as being a minimum of 20 weeks. I was not concerned by this and anticipated that one of the sofas would not be delivered before June 2021. Out of the blue, I got a telephone call from a woman at Ponsfords two weeks ago, quoting that the date for delivery was on the 12 April 2021, I confirmed this was fine, and advised there was no access issues and I would make arrangements for someone would accept the deliver. The same female advised that I had up until Friday 9th to clear the balance. I called On Thursday 8th, cleared the balance, and asked for the estimated time for delivery. To be transferred by phone to four different people, who clearly didn't have a clue what was happening, and then being rudely told firstly, the date of delivery was not the 12th April, it was an "estimated" time (which clearly it was not an estimated delivery date) and that the delay was as a result of the company not being able to get hold of the chemicals to make the cushions (which is a load of baloney). As mentioned above, I was not concerned by the estimated delivery of the sofa which on order was quoted for June 2021. What I take serious issue is, is this, I was given a specific date for delivery, I got rid of two sofas to prepare for the delivery of the one I was told would be delivered on the 12th April, to now being told "it was an estimated delivery and now, we dont know when it will be delivered". I will now be without a sofa now until June 2021 and this company took my money before confirming the date for delivery. I clearly would not have got rid of my sofas unless it had not been but for the confirmation of the delivery date. The customer service here is appalling and I have spent a lot of money in this store. It is unlikely that I can accept this level of service. Thinking of contacting my credit card company for the return of the paid funds on the basis the sofa was not delivered today as was agreed.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Dear customer, We are extremely sorry to hear this and we are now investigating the issue and will be contacting you very soon. Kind regards, Ponsford
Posted 6 months ago
Stephen & Gill We previously left a 1 star review. Unfortunately, I don't know how to change it, because when he review was left, the score was fair, things hadn't gone well up to that point. However, since then, the complaint has been sorted, and was handled very well. It might have taken some time to resolve but we got there in the end and in a manner befitting of the Ponsford reputation. So rather than leave the 1 star review unanswered, I hope this 5 star review of how they made good on the complaint gives a suitable balanced view.
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
The best furniture showroom I have visited. We were losing the will to live trying to find a suite we wanted until we happened on Ponsford! Well worth the travel, nearly 50miles from us but we found the perfect Natuzzi suite for our room. Now it is installed we are so very pleased it looks fab! No pushy salesmen in fact I must have sat in every seat in the two visits it took us to decide and no-one batted an eyelid! Paul was fab too! Very helpful delivery men and despite being a little late due to cov-d everything from start to finish was very efficient. Beautifully laid out and exceptional furnishings, will definitely be going back! Well done Ponsford!
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
A good few months ago in 2020 we bought a chair and foot stool. Months passed, we had to chase for updates and suddenly the chair was ready for deliver. The stool wasn’t. That was missing. It still is missing although they delivered a stool that was a different colour. We appreciate times are challenging but the least a customer should expect is communication and for their money not to be taken and then be ignored. We expected better off Ponsford. We truly have been astounded by their approach and are tired with having to chase to find anything out.
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
Dear Stephen and Gill, We are sorry to hear that you are disappointed with our communication as we pride ourselves on providing excellent levels of service and customer satisfaction at all times. There have been issues beyond our control with this order on this occasion and whilst we currently remain closed due to government lockdown restrictions we have endeavoured to work with our supplier to get you a satisfactory outcome whilst also providing you with a discount back from your original order. We have emailed you separately as have an update from our supplier to share with you and will be in touch with you shortly. Kind regards, Luke O' Neil Head of Marketing, Ponsford
Posted 9 months ago
If like me, you are frequently disillusioned when shopping due to poor customer service and products, then look no further than Ponsfords. Indeed Ponsford and quality are synonymous both within and outside of the local area (we live 40 miles away). This coupled with Andrew Langer who embodies the ‘Perfect Salesman’ quickly dispelled any such thoughts and feelings. He went the extra mile both literally and metaphorically, escorting us numerous times from one end of the shop to the other and back again, to show us products that he thought would be right for us. I am pernickety but Andrews boundless enthusiasm and his own attention to detail never wavered over the course of our two shop visits, phone calls and e-mails (speedy responses) over subsequent days. We are extremely grateful that Andrew, with his in-depth knowledge and honesty, helped us to focus on exactly what we needed to suit ourselves, our home and our lifestyle (competitively priced, Himolla Cumuley Rhine leather electric reclining sofas - stylish and so comfortable that they feel bespoke). We felt cared for as people and not just for profits. Thank you very much Andrew!
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
We recently bought a new dining suite from you. The standard of service in the store is second to none and the delivery was done quickly and efficiently by very cheerful delivery men. Ponsford is our favourite furniture shop.
Helpful Report
Posted 11 months ago
Visited Square kitchens at Ponsford to meet with Simon to finalise the design, really appreciated Simon’s expertise and input in putting the final touches to the design, whilst there we browsed they store for furnishings for our new home and were totally spoilt for choice. Paul was informative and provided dimensions and colour choices. A revisit is now planned to place orders. Thank you Ponsford x
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
I bought an ex-display table from Ponsford, online. There was an issue and and I wrote a negative review. Turns out too soon and ....to my own shame. The team at Ponsford dealt with the matter swiftly and to my complete satisfaction. From the myriad of shops and online transactions, this retailer stands out for its treatment of customers. It is exceptionally personal. The marketing manager, Luke, went out of his way to help me. I must mention that earlier, the delivery was on point; done to schedule and by two really nice guys, who brought the item to the exact place in my flat where I wanted it, and unwrapped it. I would definitely recommend this shop, there aren't many decent sales teams around like this.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Dear Eldana, We are very sorry to hear about this and have just responded to the email you sent us so we can follow this up for you with a member of our service team. I’d like to assure you that we are not in the habit of selling broken or faulty tables and pride ourselves on our honesty as an independent retailer. Indeed all items are given a thorough inspection before leaving our premises for delivery so something may have happened to cause this issue in transit since that inspection. We are looking forward to speaking with you in person so we can get this issue resolved to your satisfaction. Kind regards, Ponsford Customer Support
Posted 1 year ago
This is a fantastic store. I love the way you can kit out your whole house here. Our home is only small but I can still buy furniture to fit with the help of Suraj. He helped me choose the leather colour & sent for swatches. He also arranged for collection of our old suite. Everything ran smoothly with my upholstery order, from ordering to delivery. In fact it arrived earlier than first expected. When my nest of tables was delayed, Suraj stepped in to put everything right for me. One of the things I find great about the showroom is that they regularly move the furniture around to keep it interesting which makes you look at different things. Ponsfords is a very professional company from which we have bought almost all our furniture from, along with a few ornaments etc. I definitely recommend a visit & a trip to the cafe once you’ve spent up.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
A lovely shop with really helpful and friendly staff in all departments. Furniture arrived and put into place by helpful delivery men. We had a small problem with sofa which was solved quickly, iffeciently and a very friendly manner. A superb shop full of lovely products.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Always very good service. Very nice sales persons. Never pushy allow you to browse.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Quality of the sofa, and dining table and chairs, are fantastic. Really happy with the quality of the products. Also the service in store was very personable and helpful. Only comment on possible improvement was that we were encouraged to only pay deposit in store, not full payment (even though we were happy to). Then I almost forgot to pay the day before delivery and had to call to make the payment. Minor comment, but would have just been easier to pay full amount in store.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Great products backed by expert advice and service. I would thoroughly recommend.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Ponsford is rated 4.80 based on 514 reviews